An appointment is requested to apply for a marriage license. Please call to schedule your appointment.
· Parties must appear together, in person, to complete the application, Monday-Friday 8AM to 4PM (except holidays). The license may be issued at the time of application.
· Be 18 years of age or over.
· Present a valid government issued picture ID, certified copy of birth certificate or Passport
· Bring payment of $46.00 (cash or money order, exact amount) at the time of application.
· Will be asked to affirm all information is true and correct to the best of your knowledge on the application and that you are free to
marry under the laws of the state of Missouri. Your signature on the application is considered sworn affirmation.
· Have the license given to the person performing the ceremony, before the wedding.
· Have a ceremony performed within 30 days from the date of issuance in the State of Missouri. If the wedding date is more than 30
days from the application date, the couple must wait to pick up the license.
· Not be related to each other through and including first cousins.
· Provide, if previously married, the date their last marriage dissolved.
Note: Effective August 28, 2018
Senate Bill 655, which was passed by the Missouri Legislature and signed into law, prohibits marriage licenses from being issued if either party is under 16 years of age. Additionally, the legislation bars the marriage of individuals 21 or older to anyone under age 18. Parental consent will still be required for minors to marry someone under age 21. If the parents are divorced, the custodial parent must present the divorce decree showing proof of custody and a valid government issued picture ID.
Persons solemnizing marriages
Section 451.100 RSMo. Marriages may be solemnized by any clergyman, either active or retired, who is in good standing with any church or synagogue in this state. Marriages may also be solemnized, without compensation, by any judge, including a municipal judge. Marriages may also be solemnized by a religious society, religious institution, or religious organization of this state, according to the regulations and customs of the society, institution or organization, when either party to the marriage to be solemnized is a member of such society, institution or organization.
Note: It is a misdemeanor for anyone to perform a marriage ceremony if a license is not presented prior to the ceremony (451.120 RSMo.) The marriage is invalid if the ceremony takes place before the license is picked up.
Return and Record of Marriage
· The person performing the ceremony is required by law to return the completed license to the DeKalb County Recorder of Deeds
office within 15 days of the ceremony.
· The Recorder’s office then provides the state with the marriage information, retains a copy for preservation and permanent record.
· The original marriage license is mailed to the couple at the address provided.
· The License used or not used, must be returned to our office.